UFOs and New Beginnings

My major project for December was to finish decorating my daughter’s bedroom which meant painting in my spare time rather than getting to play with my sewing machine. I’m glad to say that it’s now finished and I’m really happy with it.

2015/01/img_3705.jpg

2015/01/img_3707.jpg
Now that I have some time to get back to my sewing projects I’m keen to work on two quilts I’ve had on my to do list for ages. I’ve had the fabric set aside for both but haven’t made a start. So last week I cut up my fabric to make a version of Maureen Cracknell’s Butterfly quilt which featured in Patchwork and Quilting magazine. This quilt calls for a lot of solid fabric which I would have struggled to find at my local quilt shop or online in the UK so I adapted the block size to make it Jelly roll friendly and ordered a Kona solids roll together with some pretty Art Gallery solids.

2015/01/img_3715.jpg

2015/01/img_3730.jpg

This box of beauties by Mo Bedell are cut up ready to start on Sewing Under the Rainbow’s Summer Breeze quilt.
I have promised myself that before I start piecing either of these I will finish my Luxe in Bloom quilt top.

2015/01/img_3709.jpg

2015/01/img_3728.jpg

2015/01/img_3729.jpg
I’ve added most of the sashing but still need to add a little more together with the boarders. Navy isn’t a colour I often choose but I love these bold floral fabrics. This quilt is for me which is why it keeps getting shoved to one side. I’ve been looking at Farrow and Ball’s rather decadent paint chart and think I might have to redecorate either our dining room or bedroom in blue and grey to show it off when it’s finished. We only moved into our house two years ago and other than my daughter’s room haven’t tackled any of the redecorating projects yet.

5 thoughts on “UFOs and New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

